Diagonals

Come on in and talk about anything equestrian related

Moderator: EC

Diagonals

Postby EatMyDust » Wed Nov 09, 2005 12:59 pm

#ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#Ok, I feel so stupid. Ive been riding for two years and I still cant tell when Im on the right diagonal, Ive asked my instructor, and she explains it to me,but I just cant do it . I know that when the outside leg is forward your up...but its moving to fast for me to tell. Is there anyway I can find out when Im on the right diagonal, and when Im on the wrong one?#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl#
EatMyDust

Postby chenders01 » Wed Nov 09, 2005 1:04 pm

#ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#What your instructor has taught you is correct...when the outside front leg goes forward, you go up.  But if you can't see it...#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#How about asking for a lunge-line lesson?  Get your coach to say "up" every time you should be rising, then look down until you can SEE that outside leg going forward.  After awhile, you should be able to look down and tell for yourself, when you should be going up.  #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#The other way you can do it is by feel but you need a bumpy horse to be able to learn it this way.  Bumpy horses will usually throw you out of the saddle when you should be rising.  If your horse's trot is really smooth, you sometimes can't tell.  I'll bet that pony you rode for you last lesson would be a good one to ride for this.  Ponies typically are pretty bumpy.#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#  #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl#
chenders01
Friends Of EC
Friends Of EC

Postby Azalee » Wed Nov 09, 2005 1:07 pm

#ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#If you slow your posting down, that will slow the horse down so you can tell by looking.  As for feeling the diagnol...I can do that but I'm not sure how to explain it.  It's easiest to tell when the horse is bending, though.  #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl#
...........riiight.
Azalee

Postby graciespook » Wed Nov 09, 2005 1:08 pm