I create the problems in my horse- and a couple of questions

Dressage

Moderator: EC

I create the problems in my horse- and a couple of questions

Postby RioG » Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:45 am

#ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#This is just one thing that the wonderful world (can you tell I'm a newbie? :D) of dressage has taught me.#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#Since I started lessons with a coach I discovered by accident my horse and I have been working consistently and I have come to realize that the majority of her problems come from me and my position in the tack.#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#I've owned this horse for 10 years.  We've shown quite a bit and always we have had trouble when tracking left.  She jigs and jogs and ducks into the centre and twists and cavorts her body in any number of crazy ways while I'm frantically checking the judges position and trying to keep her on the rail (this in QH hunt seat competition).  Lo and behold I tend to twist my inside shoulder!  The MINUTE I straighten it out she straightens out... it's a bloody miracle!#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#My question is this: I feel that in order to keep her straight (we're working on a 20 metre circle right now) I am exaggerating the "fix".  Is this going to lead to worse problems in the future?  Also, when working on circles I am finding it beneficial to keep my inside hip/stirrup slightly more weighted.  This helps with the bend.   Is this correct?  Or again am I creating more problems?#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#Rio is LOVING this work.  Honestly.  She chews and licks and is ready and willing to go.#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl#
RioG
Groupie
Groupie

Postby jax » Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:53 am