Canter Departures

Dressage

Moderator: EC

Canter Departures

Postby RioG » Tue Oct 25, 2005 11:08 am

#ed_op#DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#SPAN class=postbody#ed_cl#I cut and pasted this post that I made on UDBB#ed_op#/SPAN#ed_cl# so if it is redundant it is because I don't post there often - no one knows me like they do here!  I would love your input though.  Ruth et al- what are your thoughts?#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#SPAN class=postbody#ed_cl#I have just recently begun schooling my 13 year old mare in dressage. I have found a wonderful coach who subscribes to the classical method (I am very new to all of this so forgive me if I get the terminology wrong) and she is helping me to ride the horse #ed_op#SPAN style="FONT-STYLE: italic"#ed_cl#correctly#ed_op#/SPAN#ed_cl# which in turn is doing amazing things for her soundness. She has rather poor conformation and naturally travels on the forehand. This compounded by arthritis almost made me retire her completely and simply put her out to pasture. #ed_op#BR#ed_cl##ed_op#BR#ed_cl#We have started from the very basics. Teaching her to accept the contact and are currently working in the walk and trot on balance, rhythm and transitions. #ed_op#BR#ed_cl##ed_op#BR#ed_cl#I would like to begin asking for some canter work but am not sure if she is ready. I would #ed_op#SPAN style="FONT-STYLE: italic"#ed_cl#assume#ed_op#/SPAN#ed_cl# that if a horse is travelling balanced and correctly (keeping in mind her rudimentary dressage and even athletic abilities) and is able to pick up the correct lead immediately upon my asking, that that horse is collected and balanced enough for the canter work. Is this assumption incorrect? Can a horse have immediate canter departs from a walk and still be travelling on the forehand? #ed_op#BR#ed_cl##ed_op#BR#ed_cl#I want to progress in our work and attempt to increase her fitness level by adding in the canter work but need to know if doing so is actually benef