Forward!! What a Discovery!

Dressage

Moderator: EC

Forward!! What a Discovery!

Postby RioG » Wed Nov 16, 2005 10:55 am

#ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#Crazy that I've been riding for so many years and I feel like such a kid again whose parents finally agreed to let them take riding lessons.#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#Rio and I have discovered forward.  We spent the initial weeks of our "dressage discovery journey" learning to accept more contact and to be balanced and somewhat rhythmic.  We stuck to trot and kept things slow and calm in an effort to teach her to use her body in a balanced way.  #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#Now we're moving forward, and wow, what a great feeling!  Number one, the mare is sound.  This is the horse the vet told me to "trail ride around the farm" once or twice a week.  She now moves soundly and happily.  I swear she looks forward to the work.#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#We're doing circles, serpentines, lots of direction changes, all at a forward, relaxed trot.  I can sit, I can post, I can ask for less, for more... she remains balanced and rhythmic and uses her hind end.#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#Of course I know it feels better than it looks.  She hasn't suddenly morphed into a 5 year old warmblood.  But man oh man, what a great feeling that she's come even this far!#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#Any suggestions for exercises to keep us happy and interested throughout the winter?  We're working outside in a lighted ring that will be maintained as best as possible.  Right now my feeling is that we'll be leaving canter work until spring, but that could change.#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl#
RioG
Groupie
Groupie

Postby chenders01 » Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:16 am