Showmanship

Chat about Western Riding, Trail Riding and anything in between.

Moderator: EC

Showmanship

Postby Bluebird » Thu Mar 03, 2005 3:01 pm

#ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#I am going to be competing in a showmanship class at a show next weekend, and since I have never done it before, I'm wondering what are some good pointers for me to remember while at the show?  I know how to hold the lead, and always stand so that I am facing the judge....is there any tips/tricks that you use in getting your horse turned out to look his best?  My guy is a palomino, so I'm thinking of getting some Cowboy Magic to whitening him up before the show........#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl#

My Man!! Dualin' Pistols - 5 year old AQHA reining/cutting bred gelding by Dualin Gun (Dual Pep, Peppy San Badger bloodlines)

Life is Simple. Eat. Sleep. Rein.
Bluebird
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Postby AQHAgirl » Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:44 pm

#ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#A good bath, lots of brushing, maybe a nicely banded mane (or even just a nice even pulled mane), some show sheen and highlighter oil and your set to go...you could polish his hooves with that clear hoof polish to make him extra pretty.  Oh yeah and if you have the nice clip his bridle path, and maybe the outside of his ears etc.  That's should get horsey looking presentable.......  Hard to do some of that stuff in the wintertime and if it's just a small show ya probably son't have to worry about some of it. (especially the bath .....chilly! LOL!)#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl#
Helen Thomson ~ In riding a horse we borrow freedom

[url=http://www.TickerFactory.com/]
[/url]
AQHAgirl

Postby Bluebird » Thu Mar 03, 2005 6:26 pm