Bits

Chat about Western Riding, Trail Riding and anything in between.

Moderator: EC

Bits

Postby Sodapoppers » Fri Sep 16, 2005 12:54 pm

#ed_op#DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#FONT color=#0060bf#ed_cl#I am going to try my hand at western pleasure with Dream...I need a western bit, so I am looking for the equivilant of a soft english bit. Right now he goes in a loose ring snaffle.  He's very soft in the mouth so i want to avoid the nastier looking western bits that work from leverage. Thanks for your help.#ed_op#/FONT#ed_cl##ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl#
. ·'´)
¸.·´¸.·´¨) ¸.·*¨)
(¸.·´ (¸.·´ ¸.·´
¸.·´¸.·*`·-»
Grab Life by the Sodapoppers
Sodapoppers
Friends Of EC
Friends Of EC

Postby chenders01 » Fri Sep 16, 2005 1:23 pm

#ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#I think that ALL western bits work off of leverage...that's what curb bits ARE...leverage bits.  I'm no expert but I've been told that a mullen-mouth curb is the mildest western bit.  #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#If you're going to use a curb, you don't want a broken mouthpiece because that adds the action of a snaffle, and a snaffle and curb together are pretty harsh (think of a Tom Thumb bit).  So, a mullen-mouth or straight bar curb would be milder bits than a Tom Thumb.  #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#Also, the longer the shanks, the harsher the bit, so you want something with short shanks.  #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#And that's the extent of my "knowledge" of western bits.  Hopefully some "western" people can help you out better  #ed_op#IMG src="http://forums.equestrianconnection.com/richedit/smileys//smiley9.gif"#ed_cl##ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl#
chenders01
Friends Of EC
Friends Of EC

Postby goldendryad » Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:23 pm

As far as I know for western any horse over 5years old needs a curb bit
since they must neck rein. But ask around and find out...I think you