Show Hunters vs. Field Hunters

Chat about training tips and exercises, fave riders, clinics and shows

Moderator: EC

Show Hunters vs. Field Hunters

Postby Mystic » Wed Oct 05, 2005 11:20 am

#ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#If the whole premise behind showing your horse in the hunters is to show the suitability of the horse for the hunt field, why is it a real field hunter isn't looked at?#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#The mare that I ride (the one in the avatar that some of you have seen in person) is by trade a field hunter. That is her primary purpose and what her owner does with her 6 months of the year. Her owner took her to some hunter trials recently where she finished in the top 4 of every class, even winning one with someone who had never been on her before that day. Why is it this ideal field hunter who should technically be placing in the hunter ring, never gets looked at and has to show in the jumpers instead.#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#I read an article in Practical Horseman a few months ago about what judges look for in a hunter and the person that wrote it specifically mentioned that the horse should look as if it could go from the show ring to the hunt field and yet my horse isn't even given a second glance. I even took her to a clinic with a top hunter trainer/judge before I started showing her and was told that she would never make a 'hunter' and had her referred to as a cart horse. and yet she was the sanest of the lot in the windy conditions we were forced to ride in.#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl# #ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl##ed_op#DIV#ed_cl#Sorry for the rant but this has been bothering me for a while. It's not that I intend to show her hunters, since she's found her forte not only in the hunt field but in the jumper ring as well, finishing her schooling circuit 3rd overall.#ed_op#/DIV#ed_cl#
It's not the size of the horse that matters. It is the size of their heart.

Mystic